DEPARTMENT OF MATHEMATICS 2024- 2025 AY COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS

Chair of the Committee of Tenured Faculty: **Trifonov**

Chair of the Committee of Tenured Full Professors: **Thorne**

Applied and Computational Math (ACM) Committee: Q. Wang, He, Binev

AWM Faculty Advisor: Vasquez

Bylaws Committee: Androulakis, Derochers, Li, Tan, Q. Wang

Colloquium Committee: Li, Luo, Tsai, Zhang, Colebank

Competition Advisors: Va. Tech Contest (Girardi), Putnam Exam (Girardi), MCM (Sun)

Computer Committee: Binev, Li, Savu, J. McKay (ex-officio)

Lower-Level Course Coordinators: Sanders (111/1111), Derochers (115), Portwood (122), Savu (141), Savu (142), McKay (170), Vasquez (172), Groth (174), Trifonov (241), Z. Wang (242), Sun (344), Cooper (374)

Major Course Coordinators: Math 300 (Girardi), Math 544 (Kustin), Math 546 (Vraciu), Math 554 (Tan), Math 574 (Luo)

Department Secretary: Trifonov

Events Committee: **Derochers**, Portwood, Tsai, Zhang, McWhorter, McKay, Colebank

Executive Committee: **Boylan**, **Lu** (Spring), Vraciu (Fall), Liu, H. Wang, Z. Wang, Savu, Luo

Faculty Advisory Council: Androulakis (2025), Girardi (2025), Binev (2026), Q. Wang (2026), Steven Derochers (2026)

Faculty Mentors: H. Wang (Vasquez), Ju (Li), Czabarka (Luo), Tan (He), Thorne (Tsai), Androulakis (Zhang), Vasquez (Colebank), Vraciu (Almousa), Barnette (Groth), Hipp (Staton), Derochers (McWhorter)

Graduate Advisory Council: **H. Wang**, Kustin, Li, Tsai, Zhang, Cooper, (elected student member)

High School Mathematics Contest Committee: **Thorne**, Yang (Fall), Thorne (Tournament), Kustin, Zhang, Tsai, He, Colebank

Hiring Committee (Data Driven Modeling): Q. Wang, Liu, Li, Colebank

Hiring Committee (Probability Theory): **Cooper**, Androulakis, Luo, Tan

Hiring Committee (Professional Track): **Boylan**, Liu, Derochers, Sanders

Hiring Committee (Smart State Chair): **Q. Wang,** Vasquez, Li, Z. Wang, Rongying Jin (Outside member)

MAP Ad Hoc Committee: **Savu**, Staton, Frass, Ballard (Spring)

Math Learning Center Committee: Savu, Dillon, Staton, Sun (Fall)

Peer Review of Teaching Committees:

F2: **Howard**, Yang(Fall), Sun (Fall), Czabarka (Spring), Ju (Spring)

F1: **Kustin**, Binev, Ballard (Spring)

T: **Q. Wang**, Cooper, Tan

PI: **Hipp,** Portwood, Barnette, Dillon

IIME advisors: Sanders, Dillon

PTF committee: Vraciu, Boylan, Derochers, McKay, Portwood

Post-Tenure Review Committee (elected): **Z. Wang** (2025), Tan (2026), Trifonov (2025), Androlakis (2026), Howard (2026)

Post-Tenure Review Document and Annual Review Ad Hoc Committee: Howard, Thorne, Liu, H. Wang, Duncan (Fall), Czabarka (Spring)

Self-Study Ad Hoc Committee: Boylan, Lu, Liu, H. Wang, Z. Wang, Q. Wang

Service Courses Committee: **Z. Wang**, Savu, Ju (Spring), Yee, Staton, McWhorter, McGuffey, Cooper

SIAM Faculty Advisor: Li

Teaching Advisory Council: Liu, H. Wang, Yee, Z. Wang, Savu, Vraciu

Undergraduate Program Committee: **Liu**, Duncan (Fall), Czabarka (Spring), He, Portwood, Staton, Ballard (Spring), Luo, Vasquez

College of Arts and Sciences Committees

CAS Bylaws Committee: Boylan CAS Dean's Advisory Group: Sanders

Co-Director for the Center for Science Education: Sean Yee

University Committees

Carolina Core Assessment Committee: Trifonov	SCHC Top Scholars application reviewer:
	Vasquez, Girardi
Faculty Senators: Ballard (2025, Spring), Cooper	Mungo Distinguished Professor selection
(2026), Vraciu (2026), Li (2026), Sanders (2024,	committee: Girardi
Fall)	
Carolina Scholar Mentor: Cooper	Research Computing Advisory Committee:
	Vasquez
Goldwater Fellowship Committee: Cooper	Provost's Math Readiness Committee: Boylan,
	Savu, Vraciu
SCHC Top Scholars mentor: Girardi, Vasquez	UCTP committee: Sun
IT Committee of the faculty senate: Vasquez	Carolina Judicial Council: Binev
Knowles Committee: Czabarka	Intellectual Property Committee: Binev

On Sabbatical or Other Leave

Fall only: Ju, Czabarka (LWP) Spring only: Duncan, Sun, Yang, Full year: Szekely